Classification of flowers

Classification of flowers

A flower that has both androecuim and gynoecuim are known as monoecious and a flower bearing either of these is said to be dioecious.

Flower consists of four main parts known as floral leaves.These floral leaves are arranged on a receptacle in form of rings called whorls.
The four floors leaves consists of
1.Sepals or Calyx.
2.Petals or Corolla.
3.Stamens or androecium.
4.Carpels or gynoecuim or pistil.

1.Calyx are usually greenish in colour.
2.They vary in number and arrangement.
3.When sepals are free from one another, the flower is said to be polysepalous,but when they are all United, the flower is said to be gamosepalous as in hibiscus flower.

The petals of a flower make up the Corolla which is the next inner whorl to the calyx.Petals are the most conspicuous part of a flower.they are often brightly colored and scented, especially in those flowers pollinated by insects and birds.Petals also vary in number in different plants.They range from four to five and sometimes up to eight in number.Like the sepals,petals may be free or United.When they are free,they are said to be polysepalous e.g in hibiscus but when they are United the form a Corolla tube as in Allamanda,the flower is gametopetalous.

Functions of Corolla
1.Petals offers protection to stamens.
2.Petals retain pollen grains in the Corolla tubes and keels
3.Brightly coloured and scented petals attract the animal pollinating agent such as insects and birds.

It consists of anther and filament.
Each anther consists of two lobes and each love contains two pollen sacs.
The pollen sacs contain pollen grains from which the male gametes are produced.

It consists of an ovary,a style and a stigma.
The ovary contains the ovules.
The style is a narrow tube .

princedaniel Prince Daniel(Legend) Did you learn anything? Yes No        

Sample Question

Package: Free

Duration 01:40
Que 1 / 10

Example of an ovary that is syncarpous include the following EXCEPT